MAT TECH – 25 YEARS OF EXPERTISE

Mat Tech, CEO, Bob MoranIn 1987, Mr. Robert J. Moran who was already owner of the well established Crown Mats & Matting Company acquired Mat Tech located in Granby, Quebec.

At that time, we were producing vinyl back entrance matting and artificial grass carpets and selling primarily to Quebec and Ontario through Floor Covering distribution.

In the spring of 1994, the Company, being in full expansion, purchased the entrance matting division of a Mississauga, Ontario enterprise. This gave us the ability to double our sales rapidly and to access new customers both nationally and through export. We thus became the only manufacturer of vinyl back mats and grass carpets in Canada. It also availed us with better equipment: vinyl finishing line and slow shear mixers as well as obtaining required equipment such as twisting and winding machinery.

In that same year of 1994, we moved all our operations to our existing location at 137 Martin Street in Granby Qc. Space was already becoming a problem and the consolidation of all the operation and inventory under one roof was a good business decision. We reduced costs and improved our service. It placed Mat Tech in a position where our future growth from a single location was no longer an issue.

To this date, we occupy 105,000 sq.ft., and employ approximately 100 employees.

Mat Tech, canadian entrance mats, twister

Thread twisted by a twister/spindle according
to the desired weight and color

Mat Tech, canadian floor mats, Spindles

Thousands of spindles ready to be woven

Other than grass carpets and entrance mats, which we manufactured from our origins, we gradually added ergonomic and anti-fatigue mats in 1993, HDNP (Heavy-Duty Needle-Punch) commercial matting in 1999 and logo mats were added to Mat Tech’s line from the year 2000.

Our expertise of custom cuts to clients’ specs and the "just in time" delivery on our orders are two characteristics that are greatly in demand and appreciated by our clientele.

We are also consistently in step with the requirements of the market for the development of new and innovative products.

Mat Tech has grown into "the" Canadian specialist of entrance, anti-fatigue and logo mats and our expansion is due to the quality of our vast selection of matting, to our excellent customer service, as well as to the conscientious work of all our employees.

Much of our success can be attributed to an ongoing vigorous and strategic marketing expansion program, accompanied by active research and development policies and a cross country network of highly-trained sales representatives.

The Company sells its products mainly within North America and also exports world wide through the intermediary of our sister Company "Crown Mats & Matting"

Mat Tech, canadian entrance mats, Tufters

Thousands of needles working on the primary backing

Mat Tech, entrance mats, custom mats

Greige stock ready to be custom cut

We enhanced Mat Tech’s efficiency by consolidating our operations with Crown in 2005. For more than 60 years, Crown has been a pioneer, beginning with the invention of walk-off matting.

Similar to Mat Tech, Crown has the most diverse matting product line offered in the American industry.

In January 2013. both companies have been acquired by Desco Capital and members of Mat Tech/Crown management. Desco Capital, founded in 1966, is a privately owned company located in Columbus, Ohio. It owns and successfully operates several manufacturing companies located in North America, Europe and Asia that conduct operations in varying business sectors. They intend to provide long-term growth by creating added value for the customers.

Mat Tech’s hope for the future is to continue finding effective, safe and aesthetic matting solutions for the Canadian market's maintenance and ergonomic problems. Our passion for quality and innovation is our guide to continue offering high-performance solutions that set new standards
in the market.

We will continue making a difference...
and we are proud to be "the" Canadian Manufacturer!

 

Mat Tech, entrance mats, floor mats

Carpet surface at the entrance of the oven where the backing will be applied

Mat Tech, entrance matting, wiper mats

End of cooking and cooling period

Mat Tech, commercial matting, entrance mats

Roll slicer

Mat Tech, entrance mats & matting

Finished products awaiting inspection

MAT TECH - 25 ANS DE SAVOIR-FAIRE

Mat Tech, CEO, Bob MoranEn 1987, M. Robert Moran déjà propriétaire de Crown Mats & Matting, acquiert une petite entreprise de Granby qu’il renomme Mat Tech.

À cette époque, Mat Tech vendait principalement aux distributeurs de couvre-plancher du Québec et de l’Ontario les tapis d’entrée avec endos de vinyle et les tapis gazon qu’ils produisaient.

Au printemps 1994, dans le but d’accéder à de nouveaux clients et de doubler rapidement ses ventes, Mat Tech se porte acquéreur de la division de tapis d’entrée d’une compagnie de Mississauga, Ontario. Par le fait même Mat Tech devient le seul fabricant de tapis d’entrée et de tapis gazon au Canada en plus d’acquérir des équipements de production plus performants.

Aussi en 1994, Mat Tech rapatrie et consolide toutes ses opérations au 137 rue Martin dans le but de réduire ses coûts et d’améliorer son service. Cet immeuble de 105,000 p.c. allait permettre à l’entreprise de continuer sa croissance.

 

Mat Tech, canadian entrance mats, twister

Fils doublés par un retordeur selon
le produit désiré

Mat Tech, canadian floor mats, Spindles

Milliers de bobines en train d’être touffetées

En plus des tapis d’entrée et des tapis gazon que Mat Tech fabriquaient depuis le début, plusieurs autres produits furent ajoutés au fil des ans. Les tapis ergonomiques et tapis antifatigue en 1993, les tapis aiguilletés commerciaux (HDNP) en 1999 et les tapis logo en 2000 complétèrent la gamme de produits.

À l’écoute des besoins du marché, Mat Tech ne cesse de développer de nouveaux produits innovateurs. Ses livraisons ‘’juste à temps’’ et son service de coupes sur mesure sont deux caractéristiques hautement appréciées de ses clients.

Au fil des ans, Mat Tech est devenu ‘’le chef de file canadien des tapis d’entrée, des tapis antifatigue et des tapis logo’’. Cette renommée est due à sa vaste gamme de produits, à l’excellence de son service à la clientèle et à son personnel consciencieux.

Une bonne partie du succès de l’entreprise est attribuée à un programme de mise en marché vigoureux, des produits de qualité, un programme de recherche et développement et à un réseau d’agents compétents à travers le Canada.

En plus de vendre principalement ses produits en Amérique du Nord, Mat Tech exporte ses produits sur plusieurs continents par le biais de sa compagnie sœur Crown Mats & Matting située aux États Unis.

 

Mat Tech, canadian entrance mats, Tufters

Centaines d’aiguilles travaillant le dossier primaire

Mat Tech, entrance mats, custom mats

Stock de tapis écru prêt à être coupé

En 2005, dans le but d’accroître son efficacité, Mat Tech consolide ses opérations avec Crown Mats & Matting une pionnière dans l’industrie qui avait inventé les tapis d’entrée avec endos de vinyle il y a de cela plus de soixante ans.

Semblable à Mat Tech, Crown Mats & Matting possède la plus vaste gamme de carpettes offerte aux États Unis.

En janvier 2013. les deux compagnies ont été acquises par Desco Capital ainsi que des membres de la direction de Mat Tech/Crown. Desco Capital, fondée en 1966, est une compagnie privée, située à Columbus, Ohio. Elle possède et opère avec succès plusieurs entreprises manufacturières situées en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie et oeuvrant dans différents secteurs d'activités. Leur approche consiste à assurer une croissance à long terme en créant de la valeur ajoutée pour la clientèle.

Pour le futur, Mat Tech continuera de trouver des solutions efficaces, esthétiques, durables et sécuritaires pour les problèmes de maintenance et d’ergonomie du marché canadien. La passion de l’entreprise pour la qualité et l’innovation permet à celle-ci de continuer d’offrir des solutions hautement performantes qui fixent de nouveaux standards dans le marché.

Mat Tech va continuer de faire une différence…
et d’être fier d’être « le » manufacturier canadien !

 

Mat Tech, entrance mats, floor mats

Surface du tapis à l’entrée du four
où sera appliqué l’endos

Mat Tech, entrance matting, wiper mats

Fin de la cuisson et zone de refroidissement

Mat Tech, commercial matting, entrance mats

Table à couper et à fendre les rouleaux

Mat Tech, entrance mats & matting

Produits finis en attente d’inspection